Tidbits About Me

Tidbits About Me

Let’s see. What might someone want to know about me?

I am married to my best friend and the most wonderful husband ever! His name is Chuck. We live in Minnesota and are the proud parents of two girls, Madeline (Maddie – Feb. 2011) and Danielle (Dannie – Nov. 2012) and a boy, Alexander (Alex – Nov. 2014).

We are busy people. I am a tad bit lazy by nature, but thankfully Chuck doesn’t sit still well and keeps us active. We do projects around the house (he’s VERY handy), take trips, bike ride, swim, go on walks, downhill ski, play hockey (more him than me, but I’m learning), play broomball, play softball, and a multitude of other things. Life’s too short to sit around…I am learning that and learning to enjoy the activities more and more! A lot of our recent activities include parks or activities to entertain the kiddos!

I used to work full time as a legal assistant at an Intellectual Property law firm. I am sure most of you have no idea what that is. They work on patents and trademarks. (There are some really creative people out there!) In September 2013, I decided to start working for some of the attorneys I used to work with as a part time legal assistant. Their new place is KHC. I do transcription and prepare documents for them from home. It’s a great gig for everyone!

Mostly, I stay home with Maddie, Dannie and Alex and I’m enjoying every minute of it. They keep me on my toes and it is definitely the hardest and most rewarding job I have ever had!

I went back to school before Maddie was born for a couple semesters to try my hand at Computer Science. I didn’t pursue it and sometimes wish I had stuck with it. I am currently working on learning more JavaScript because I have decided I would like to work toward a career in web development. I love working on websites and playing around on them. So I am working on learning more front-end and back-end stuff and I’ll see where it takes me.

I had a craft business for a while (cards, jewelry…my dad was my best customer), but I didn’t care for the part where I had to promote myself to make money. The site, as well as my love of crafting, has gone on the back burner since I had kids. I actually don’t miss it all that much. Ha!

I am trying to read more books and watch less tv. I think my mind turns into vegetable mush some nights when I get lost in shows for hours.

I keep a blog because I want to “journal” things. I am glad to have readers, but I do this for me. If you don’t like the content…wait until tomorrow. You might like it then. 🙂 And if not, well, maybe I’m just not for you. I tend to be quite random about what I post here. But I suppose that is because I am a very random person!

I think Twitter is useless and awesome at the same time. I love useless information about people’s lives! I also have Twitter accounts for all of my kids (which can be found on my sidebar). But you’ll find me on Instagram way more than anything else.

I am short! Only 4′ 11″. I have been known to find some creative ways to get things I need that are up high and I fit well in small places…i.e., under sinks!

When I meet new people, I like to try to find them on the Internet (i.e., Facebook) and stalk them learn all about them! I promise I’m not a crazy stalker….I’m just curious. Smile

I like hanging out in smaller groups as opposed to larger ones. Does this make me an introvert for not enjoying large groups? Or an extrovert for liking to hang out with people in general?

I would consider myself a homebody. Nothing is better than being at home with Chuck and the kids.

My hubby currently works for Google. He works with some of the most interesting and smartest people I know. And he is the smartest of them all (I’m not biased at all!). This guy never ceases to amaze me with all he knows and all he can do!

I love Star Trek and named a pet after one of the characters (I a cat Dax once).

I don’t like to clean. But don’t seem to hate it as much as I used to….I just don’t have as much time to do it chasing kids round all day. Cleaning has become more enjoyable since I learned the joy of audio books. I am always listening to one when I have a few extra minutes!

I love going to the zoo. I should really be put on one of those leash things parents attach to their children to keep them from running off. Maddie, Dannie and I go there as often as possible. And since it’s so close, we can go there for a short time whenever we can.

There are only a handful of people I would call my best friends. I have many friends, but the best ones are precious to me.

I have two younger brothers. One is 4 1/2 years younger than me and the other is 17 years younger.

I like to cook, or at least I think I do. I love looking at cookbooks and magazines and can’t get enough of those stupid sped-up videos on instagram. But…see next paragraph.

I get incredibly nervous to try new things, but I am working to get over that fear. It’s quite debilitating at times and frankly no fun. I am mostly afraid to fail. I am learning that failing is ok. You learn from it and grow. So it isn’t all bad!

When my hubby got a job at Google, we uprooted ourselves from Minnesota and moved to Seattle.  We were there for a year and decided it wasn’t a place we wanted to stay and moved back home. Chuck still works for Google and we moved back into our house in Minnesota which was both weird and convenient.

I am a recovering pessimist. At least that’s what I call myself. I have very pessimistic tendencies, but I don’t want that to define who I am. So I am working on being more positive. I did a gratitude journal of sorts in the past, too. Life is good and I want to live that way every day.

I am happy to answer more questions if you have any. Feel free to contact me HERE. As things change in life, I will update this or add more tidbits as I realize them!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.